Party like it’s between 1998 and 2001

As part of my ongoing attempts to manage my music through iTunes, rather than have iTunes derange me to the point of murderous intent (so far it’s winning comfortably), I recently stumbled across a home-made music compilation I’d nearly forgotten about. Harking back to the very late 90s/very early 2000s, this compilation is something of a personal time-stamp for me, reflecting as it does what I thought of as the definitive soundtrack to a night out back then. It was inspired by a long-standing weekly Saturday night out in a club called Le Bateau in Liverpool. The full track listing is below, but before we get there, a few (self-)reflections:

…could I be/have been any more of an ‘indie kid’? Two Charlatans tracks? Two?? Jesus Christ… Loaded by Primal Scream now sounds like just about the dullest thing I’ve ever heard. Clearly I was becoming obsessed by The Hives. The inclusion of Skeleton Key reminds me how the club played The Coral’s debut album in its entireity on the night of its release, them being local rising stars and all (the Wirral being part of Liverpool when it suits, of course)…

Side A   Side B
Track Artist   Track Artist
Sexy Boy Air Brown Sugar The Rolling Stones
Not if You Were the Last Junkie on Earth The Dandy Warhols Do You Remember The First Time? Pulp
Trash Suede 21st Century Rip Off The Soundtrack Of Our Lives
Just When You’re Thinkin’ Things Over The Charlatans Hate to Say I Told You So The Hives
This Is Love PJ Harvey Fools Gold The Stone Roses
Town Called Malice The Jam Last Nite The Strokes
Loaded Primal Scream Main Offender The Hives
There She Goes The La’s Love Will Tear Us Apart Joy Division
Kung Fu Ash Animal Nitrate Suede
Panic The Smiths Bigmouth Strikes Again The Smiths
The Only One I Know The Charlatans Laid James
Waterfall The Stone Roses Once Around the Block Badly Drawn Boy
Skeleton Key The Coral I Am the Resurrection The Stone Roses
Doledrum The La’s Die, All Right! The Hives
    There Is a Light That Never Goes Out The Smiths

, , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

